1055 University Ave, Dubuque, IA 52001
Facebook Twitter RSS Feed Email Delays and Cancellations Listen Live

Wisconsin’s Kind Among Democrats Voting Against Pelosi


The Congressman who represents southwestern Wisconsin was one of a handful of Democrats who did not support Nancy Pelosi retaking the office of House Speaker. Representative Ron Kind was among the fifteen Democrats who voted for someone other than Pelosi, who was eventually elected as the Speaker of the House, a position she also held from 2011 to 2015. Kind instead voted for Georgia Congressman John Lewis, a hero of the civil rights movement who’s been in office for more than 30 years. Congresswoman Cheri Bustos, who represents the Illinois portion of our listening area, did support Pelosi, but also won a couple of votes in the Speaker election. Joe Cunningham of South Carolina, Jared Golden of Maine, Mikie Sherrill of New Jersey, and Abigail Spanberger of Virginia all voted for Bustos, who is chair of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email