1055 University Ave, Dubuque, IA 52001
Facebook Twitter RSS Feed Email Delays and Cancellations Listen Live

WIAA Gives Final Approval to Football Only Realignment

At their spring meeting this week, the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Board of Control passed a statewide football-only conference realignment proposal. The plan will be implemented in 2020 and evenly balances the number of schools with similar enrollment sizes in a conference. The move will also help make certain teams have enough conference games for playoff qualification.

Under the new plan the Southwest, SWAL, and Six Rivers will each have seven member schools.

The Southwest will consist of Platteville, Prairie du Chien, River Valley, Dodgeville, Broadhead/Juda, Richland Center, and New Glarus/Monticello.

The SWAL will consist of: Cuba City, Darlington, Fennimore, Lancaster, Mineral Point, Parkview/Albany, and Belleville.

The Six Rivers will consist of: Benton/Shullsburg/Scales Mound, Potosi/Cassville, Southwestern, Iowa-Grant, Black Hawk/Warren, IL, Pecatonica/Argyle, Iowa-Grant, and River Ridge.

  • In another note from WIAA Meeting, Platteville High School received special recognition. Platteville is one of 22 schools in the state being recognized with the Award of Excellence during the 2017-18 school year. The award recognizes member schools for their efforts & achievements in the areas of sportsmanship, ethics, integrity, leadership & character.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email