1055 University Ave, Dubuque, IA 52001
Facebook Twitter RSS Feed Email Delays and Cancellations Listen Live

Nadal takes Open title…Pats blow out Steelers…Rams top Panthers…Chiefs crush Jags

NEW YORK (AP) – Rafael Nadal has earned his 19th Grand Slam title by capturing the U.S. Open final against Daniil Medvedev. Nadal squandered a two-sets-to-love leave before pulling out a 7-5, 6-3, 5-7, 4-6, 6-4 victory in 4 hours, 50 minutes. Nadal is one away from Roger Federer’s men’s record of 20 Grand Slam championships.

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. (AP) – Tom Brady showed he still has life in his 42-year-old arm by passing for 341 yards and three touchdowns to lead the New England Patriots’ 33-3 romp over the Pittsburgh Steelers. Phillip Dorsett caught two touchdown passes from Brady, including a 58-yard score. Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger¬† completed 27 of 47 passes for 277 yards and an interception, with much of that coming after the Patriots built a 20-0 lead in the fourth quarter.

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) – The Los Angeles Rams have opened their NFC title defense with a 30-27 win at Carolina as Jared Goff threw for 186 yards and a touchdown. Todd Gurley started and ran for 97 yards on 14 carries after being limited to eight yards rushing on five touches in the first half. Malcolm Brown scored two TDs and was the primary ball carrier for the better part of three quarters, finishing with 53 yards on 11 carries.

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. (AP) – Patrick Mahomes threw for 378 yards and three touchdowns while leading the Kansas City Chiefs to a 40-26 victory over the Jaguars in Jacksonville. Sammy Watkins caught nine passes for a career-high 198 yards and three TDs while Tyreek Hill missed most of the game with a shoulder injury. Jacksonville quarterback Nick Foles sustained a broken left collarbone in the first half, and Myles Jack was ejected for throwing a punch during a fracas in the end zone.

INDIANPOLIS (AP) – Kevin Harvick won the Brickyard 400 for the second time, beating Joey Logano by 6.118 seconds in a crash-marred race that ended Jimmie Johnson’s perfect playoff run. Johnson had been the only driver to qualify for every Cup playoff since the format was introduced in 2004. Clint Bowyer and Ryan Newman claimed the final two spots in the 16-driver field.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email