1055 University Ave, Dubuque, IA 52001
Facebook Twitter RSS Feed Email Delays and Cancellations Listen Live

Gustafson Wins AP Player of the Year, Lisa Leslie Award

TAMPA, Florida – University of Iowa senior Megan Gustafson added to her growing list of post season awards yesterday being named the Associated Press National Player of the Year and the recipient of the Lisa Leslie awarded to the top post player in the country. The announcements were made during a press conference in Amalie Arena at the Women’s Final Four.

Gustafson is the first Big Ten student-athlete to receive the AP National Player of the Year. Gustafson is the first Hawkeye to earn a national player of the year award since 1988.

Gustafson was also named one of 10 WBCA All-Americans on Thursday. She is the first Hawkeye to earn the distinction since 2015.

The two-time Big Ten Player of the Year, is also a finalist for the Naismith Trophy, USBWA Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, and the John R. Wooden Award.

  • Iowa State senior Bridget Carleton was named the Cheryl Miller Award winner given to the top small forward in women’s college basketball
Print Friendly, PDF & Email