Listen Live
Delays and Cancellations

Iowa Primary Elections Today

The number of candidates seeking state and county office will be cut down significantly today, as primary elections in Iowa determine who will advance to this fall’s general election.

Likely the highest-profile race being contested is among five Democrats looking to challenge incumbent governor Kim Reynolds. She’ll be seeking a full term of her own, after taking over for former governor Terry Branstad last year.

Democrats will also be choosing an opponent for Republican Congressman Rod Blum. Dubuque state legislator Abby Finkenauer appears to be the front-runner among the four Democrats running in the 1st Congressional District. Opposing her are former Labor Department staffer Thomas Heckroth, retired police officer George Ramsey, and aerospace engineer Courtney Rowe.

Three Democrats are seeking the chance to take over Finkenauer’s seat in the Iowa House. The winner between Brad Cavanaugh, Pat Cullen, and Lindsay James will be the party’s nominee in the 99th Iowa House District, and will face Republican Pauline Chilton in November.

There’s another contested Iowa House primary in the 57th district, which covers most of Dubuque County outside the Dubuque city limits. That’s where Loras College social work professor Nancy Fett and correctional officer Leo Gansen are competing for the Democratic nomination. The winner between them will look to unseat Republican Shannon Lundgren in the fall.

Dubuque County Democrats will also be picking nominees for a couple of county offices. Assistant County Attorney Ry Meyer and longtime local lawyer CJ May are both seeking to become the next County Attorney. In the Board of Supervisors race, two candidates will move on from a three-person field that includes incumbent Jay Wickham, Ann McDonough, and Roger Oberbroeckling.

As for Republicans, the most notable primary is in the race to be Iowa’s next Secretary of Agriculture. Five candidates are competing in that primary, including current Ag Secretary Mike Naig and Delaware County state legislator Dan Zumbach.

Polls opened at 7:00 this morning and will be open until 9:00 tonight.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
No announcement available or all announcement expired.